So You Think You Can Dance

So You Think You Can Dance

Jul. 20, 2005
Your rating: 0
0 0 votes


Simon Fuller


Video trailer


So You Think You Can Dance is an American televised dance competition show that airs on Fox in the United States and is the flagship series of the international So You Think You Can Dance television franchise.

The series premiered on July 20, 2005 with over ten million viewers and ended the summer season as the top-rated show on television. SYTYCD was created by American Idol producers Simon Fuller and Nigel Lythgoe and is produced by 19 Entertainment and Dick Clark Productions. The first season was hosted by current American news personality Lauren S├ínchez. Since the second season, it has been hosted by former British children’s television personality and one-time game show emcee Cat Deeley. During its second season, the program remained the No. 1 rated summer show but it has declined in ratings since.

The show features a tiered format wherein dancers from a variety of styles enter open auditions held in a number of major U.S. cities to showcase their unique styles and talents and, if allowed to move forward, then are put through additional rounds of auditions to test their ability to adapt to different styles. At the end of this process, a small number of dancers are chosen as finalists. These dancers move on to the competition’s main phase, where they perform solo, duet, and group dance numbers in a variety of styles. They compete for the votes of the broadcast viewing audience which, combined with the input of a panel of judges, determines which dancers advance to the next stage from week to week. The number of finalists has varied as determined by a season’s format, but has typically been 20 contestants.

Original title So You Think You Can Dance
Firt air date Jul. 20, 2005
Last air date Sep. 12, 2016
Seasons 13
Episodes 249
Status Returning Series

Seasons and episodes

1 Season 1 Jul. 20, 2005
2 Season 2 May. 25, 2006
3 Season 3 May. 24, 2007
4 Season 4 May. 22, 2008
5 Season 5 May. 21, 2009
6 Season 6 Sep. 09, 2009
7 Season 7 May. 27, 2010
8 Season 8 May. 26, 2011
9 Season 9 May. 24, 2012
10 Season 10 May. 14, 2013